Husky Health - Brief overview

Connecticut’s Medicaid program, Husky Health, is a lifeline for people who need access to health care and cannot afford the cost of coverage. The program offers medical coverage to eligible persons and currently covers over 800,000 people in the state.

There are four ways that a person could be eligible for full coverage through Medicaid.


Husky A

Husky A provides health care coverage for children up to 201% of Federal Poverty Level (FPL), their parents/caregivers up to 155% of FPL; and pregnant women up to 263% of FPL.


Husky B (Children’s Health Insurance Program)

Husky B, Connecticut’s Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), provides coverage to children with household incomes between 201%-323% of FPL.


Husky C

Husky C provides health care coverage to people with disabilities and older adults based on income and asset limits, which vary by geographic region in Connecticut.


Husky D

Husky D is Connecticut’s Medicaid expansion population and is open to adults age 19-64, with no dependent children, and incomes up to 138% of FPL.

Click here for the 2018 Federal Poverty Level Guidelines.

Additionally, Medicaid includes the following programs:

 The Medicare Savings Program is a benefit for seniors and people with disabilities who are enrolled in Medicare. The Medicare Savings Program has three categories of coverage and offers financial assistance to pay the Medicare Part B premium. Some enrollees may also be eligible to receive assistance with the cost of copays and deductibles.

Medicaid waiver programs for older adults and children or adults with disabilities, which allow them to reside in their community with supports.

Limited Benefits Programs, which offer a more narrow benefit than the categorical coverage indicated above (Husky A, C, D), like family planning services or services for people with tuberculosis.

****For official information on Connecticut’s Husky Program, please visit the Connecticut Department of Social Services website.